Gil Evans Plays the Music of Jimi Hendrix (1975)

Jimi Hendrix was scheduled to record with Gil Evans' Orchestra but died before the session could take place. A few years later, Evans explored ten of Hendrix's compositions with his unique 19-piece unit.

Personnel includes: Gil Evans (arranger, piano, electric piano, celeste); Howard Johnson (arranger, tuba, clarinet, bass clarinet); David Horowitz (arranger, electric piano, organ, synthesizer); Trevor Koehler (arranger, soprano & tenor saxophones, flute); Tom Malone (arranger, trombone, bass trombone, flute, piccolo, synthesizer); "Hannibal" Marvin Peterson (vocals, trumpet); David Sanborn (soprano & alto saxophones, flute); Billy Harper (tenor saxophone, flute); Lew Soloff, Ernie Royal (trumpet, flugelhorn); Peter Gordon (French horn); Warren Smith (vibraphone, marimba, chimes, gong, percussion); John Abercrombie, Ryo Kawasaki, Keith Loving (guitar); Michael Moore (bass); Herb Bushler (electric bass); Sue Evans (drums, tympani, congas, cow bell); Bruce Ditmas (drums, tabla, cuica); Tony Williams (drums).


cooljazz said...

Thank you.

Anonymous said...

Thanks so much. You always post the best things.